District V NABP/AACP 86th Annual Meeting Business Session—August 11, 2023 Medora, North Dakota

The session was called to order by President Mark Hardy, Pharm D., at 10:45 a.m. on August 11, 2023.

The reports of the District V committees were then received. Committee appointments for 2023 were as follows:

Audit Committee: Kari Shanard-Koenders, Chair; Tim Welty; and Diane Halvorson Nominating Committee: Shane Wendel, Chair; Ron Horner; and Tyler Laetsch

Resolutions Committee: Tanya Schmidt, Chair; Gary Milavetz; Amy Paradis; Ken Kester;

and Ashley Hansen

Mark Hardy called on Kari Shanard-Koenders of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the audit committee report. Kari reported that the committee had met, had examined the income and expenses for District V for FY 2022, and had found them to be in order. Kari also reported that District V had a balance of \$73,222.69 on hand as of June 30, 2023. It was moved, seconded and carried to adopt the audit committee report. Mr. Hardy thanked Kari and the members of the audit committee for their work.

Mark Hardy called on Shane Wendel of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the Nominating Committee report. The nominating committee placed the names of Diane Halvorson (ND) and Ashley Hansen (SD) in nomination with a recommendation that Diane Halvorson should serve as the delegate and Ashley Hansen should serve as the alternate. Only boards of pharmacy were allowed to vote, since this is an NABP selection. Diane Halvorson was elected as the resolutions committee representative/delegate and Ashley Hanson was elected as the alternate. Mr. Hardy thanked Shane and the members of the nominating committee for their work.

Mark Hardy called on Tanya Schmidt of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the resolutions committee report. Mr. Hardy asked Ms. Schmidt to read each resolution in order. The resolutions were considered, moved and seconded. All present at the meeting voted "aye" on all the motions and each motion carried.

Resolution #1: Recognition of Annual Meeting Sponsors.

WHEREAS, the 86th Annual Meeting of District V NABP/AACP was conducted with the generous support of these eight participating companies: Amazon Pharmacy, Cigna/Express Scripts, CVS Health, Genoa Healthcare, Lexmark, NACDS, Walgreens, and Walmart,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Body of District V NABP/AACP, that we express our sincere thanks and appreciation for their support.

Resolution #1 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #2: Recognition of Host Organizations.

WHEREAS, the staff of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy have contributed much time and energy in meeting preparation; and

WHEREAS, the School of Pharmacy of North Dakota State University has also contributed much time and energy to the preparation of this meeting;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Body of District V NABP/AACP go on record expressing their sincere appreciation to the host organizations for developing a successful Annual Meeting in Medora, North Dakota.

Resolution #2 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #3: District V Study Grants.

WHEREAS, in 1994 the District V NABP/AACP instituted the District V Study Grant, and

WHEREAS, projects supported by the Study Grant benefit the Board, Colleges, and Pharmacists of District V; and

WHEREAS, there are sufficient funds in the District treasury to support continuation of the Study Grant,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that District V NABP/AACP offer two (2) Study Grants in 2024 not to exceed \$4,000.00 each, for projects meeting the criteria and topics selected by the District V Study Grant Committee.

Resolution #3 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #4: Lloyd K. Jessen Honorarium.

WHEREAS, Lloyd K. Jessen has contributed to District V NABP/AACP through his excellent dedicated leadership and service as Secretary/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, such services are essential to the operations and functioning of District V NABP/AACP;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the members of the 86th Annual Meeting of District V go on record to express our joint and mutual appreciation for his distinguished and faithful service; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that District V issue Lloyd K. Jessen an honorarium in the amount of \$4,000.00.

Resolution #4 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #5: Task Force To Examine Streamlining NABP Competency Exams

SUBMITTED BY: North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy/District V

WHEREAS, the public at large relies on the professionals that the state boards of pharmacy license and regulate to provide critical health care services; and

WHEREAS, state boards of pharmacy have a common duty to protect the public while ensuring a safe and streamlined process for pharmacist licensure; and

WHEREAS, it is vital that appropriate measures are in place to ensure the integrity of the competency exams used for pharmacist licensure; and

WHEREAS, at the same time, public policy supports scrutiny of the established licensure process to safely improve it.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that NABP convene a task force to examine feasible options for NABP and state boards of pharmacy to streamline NABP competency exam administration processes. Such options may include, but are not limited to, providing more testing center choices, enhancing communication between colleges and schools of pharmacy and NABP to alleviate delays in the posting of graduate transcripts, and allowing candidates to take the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination and/or Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination prior to anticipated graduation.

Resolution #5 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Mr. Hardy thanked Ms. Schmidt and the members of the resolutions committee for their work.

Time and Place Committee:

Don Klepser and Ken Kester of Nebraska accepted the hosting of the 87th Annual Meeting of NABP/AACP District V on behalf of the Nebraska Board of Pharmacy, Creighton University School of Pharmacy, and the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy. They invited the district to Omaha, Nebraska, for the 2024 Annual Meeting on July 31 – August 2, 2024.

The 88th Annual Meeting of NABP/AACP District V will be held in Iowa in 2025. The time and place of that meeting is yet to be determined.

There being no further business, the 2023 annual meeting of District V NABP/AACP was adjourned at noon.

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd K. Jessen Secretary/Treasurer