# District Five NABP/AACP 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting Business Session—August 5, 2022 Custer, South Dakota

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Kari Shanard-Koenders and turned over to Secretary/Treasurer Lloyd K. Jessen

The reports of the District Five committees were then received. Committee appointments for 2022 were as follows:

Audit Committee: Jason Varin, Chair; Tim Welty; and Diane Halvorson

Nominating Committee: Andrew Funk, Chair; Sabrina Beck; and Kendra Metz

Resolutions Committee: Mark Hardy, Chair; Gary Milavetz; Amy Paradis; Cheri Kramer;

and Ashley Hansen

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Jason Varin of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy to present the audit committee report. Jason reported that the committee had met, had examined the income and expenses for District Five for FY 2021, and had found them to be in order. Jason also reported that District Five had a balance of \$68,742.02 on hand as of June 30, 2022. It was moved, seconded and carried to adopt the audit committee report.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Jason and the members of the audit committee for their work.

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Andrew Funk of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy to present the Nominating Committee report. The nominating committee placed the names of Stuart Williams (MN) and Diane Halvorson (ND) in nomination with a recommendation that Stuart Williams should serve as the delegate and Diane Halvorson should serve as the alternate. Only boards of pharmacy were allowed to vote, since this is an NABP selection. Stuart Williams was elected as the resolutions committee representative/delegate and Diane Halvorson was elected as the alternate.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Andrew and the members of the nominating committee for their work.

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Mark Hardy of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the resolutions committee report. The Secretary/Treasurer asked Mark to

read each resolution in turn and it was voted on immediately after the reading. Since there were five members on the resolutions committee, they were considered moved and seconded by the committee.

# **Resolution #1: Recognition of Annual Meeting Sponsors.**

WHEREAS, the 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of District Five NABP/AACP was conducted with the generous support of these six participating companies: Cigna/Express Scripts, CVS Health, Genoa Healthcare, NACDS, Walgreens, and Walmart,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Body of District Five NABP/AACP, that we express our sincere thanks and appreciation for their support.

Resolution #1 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

#### **Resolution #2: Recognition of Host Organizations.**

WHEREAS, the staff/members of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy have contributed much time and energy in meeting preparation; and

WHEREAS, the staff/faculty of the South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy have contributed to the preparation of this meeting;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Body of District Five NABP/AACP go on record expressing their sincere appreciation for the kind hospitality and thoughtful planning to conduct a highly productive and successful Annual Meeting in Custer, South Dakota.

Resolution #2 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

## **Resolution #3: District Five Study Grants.**

WHEREAS, in 1994 the District Five NABP/AACP instituted the District Five Study Grant, and

WHEREAS, projects supported by the Study Grant benefit the Board, Colleges, and Pharmacists of District Five; and

WHEREAS, there are sufficient funds in the District treasury to support continuation of the Study Grant,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that District Five NABP/AACP offer two (2) Study Grants in 2023 not to exceed \$3,000.00 each, for projects meeting the criteria and topics selected by the District Five Study Grant Committee.

Resolution #3 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

### Resolution #4: Lloyd K. Jessen Honorarium.

WHEREAS, Lloyd K. Jessen has contributed to District Five NABP/AACP through his excellent dedicated leadership and service as Secretary/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, such services are essential to the operations and functioning of District Five NABP/AACP;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the members of the 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of District Five go on record to express our joint and mutual appreciation for his distinguished and faithful service; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that District Five issue Lloyd K. Jessen an honorarium in the amount of \$4,000.00 and pay his expenses related to attendance at the meeting.

Resolution #4 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Mark and the members of the resolutions committee for their work.

#### Time and Place Committee:

Mark Hardy of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy invited the district to the Badlands of North Dakota for the 2023 Annual Meeting on **August 9-11, 2023.** The meeting will be held in Medora.

Sabrina Beck of Nebraska accepted the hosting of the 2024 Annual Meeting on behalf of the Nebraska Board of Pharmacy, Creighton University School of Pharmacy, and the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy. The time and place of the 2024 Annual Meeting is yet to be determined.

There being no further business, the 2022 annual meeting of District Five NABP/AACP was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd K. Jessen Secretary/Treasurer