District Five NABP/AACP Meeting Minutes Teleconference, March 31, 2020

This teleconference of the members of District Five NABP/AACP was held in response to the Covid-19 Pandemic.

The meeting was called to Order by Susan Lessard-Friesen of the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba.

Roll Call was taken by Lloyd K. Jessen, Secretary/Treasurer of District Five. The following members of District Five and others were present and participated in the meeting:

- Jane Alcorn, University of Saskatchewan
- Carmen Catizone, NABP
- Renae Chesnut, Drake University
- Jesse Cushman, NE Board of Pharmacy
- Andrew Funk, MN Board of Pharmacy
- Dan Hansen, SDSU
- Mark Hardy, ND Board of Pharmacy
- Lloyd K. Jessen, District Five
- Susan Lessard-Friesen, College of Pharmacists of Manitoba
- Donald Letendre and Jeff Reist, University of Iowa
- Dana Oberman, NABP
- Keith Olsen, University of Nebraska
- Lalitha Raman-Wilms, University of Manitoba
- Evan Robinson, Creighton University
- Kari Shanard-Koenders, SD Board of Pharmacy
- Jason Varin, University of Minnesota
- Cody Wiberg, MN Board of Pharmacy

The following members were absent:

- Charles Peterson, NDSU
- Jeana Wendel, Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals

Susan Lessard-Friesen called the meeting to order at approximately 10:02 a.m. CDT. Susan explained that due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the 2020 Annual Meeting of District Five which was planned to be held in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on August 5-7, 2020, needs to be re-scheduled.

Susan proposed that the 2020 Annual Meeting be only a ½ day electronic meeting via the Web. Susan also provided two options for moving forward beyond August 2020: (1) To move the Manitoba in-person meeting to August 2021 and move the South Dakota annual meeting to 2022; or (2) To cancel the Manitoba in-person meeting entirely and proceed with the 2021 annual meeting in South Dakota.

The financial cost to District Five of Option 1 was estimated to be \$0. The financial cost to District Five of Option 2 was estimated to \$2,000 (plus an additional \$1,000 for cancellation a non-hotel contract).

Kari Shanard-Koenders and the district's Secretary/Treasurer noted that a contract has already been signed for the 2021 annual meeting in South Dakota, which obligates the district to a financial cost of \$500, if the 2021 meeting is cancelled by December 2020. Kari Shanard-Koenders agreed to talk with the South Dakota meeting site and determine if the contract could be changed from 2021 to 2022, without any financial penalty.

Renae Chesnut of Drake University proposed an Option 3, whereby the 2021 annual meeting would proceed in South Dakota, and the 2022 annual meeting would be held in Manitoba. Susan Lessard-Friesen responded that she would talk with hotel in Winnipeg and determine if that would be feasible.

A motion was made by Lalitha Raman-Wilms, and seconded by Cody Wiberg, to proceed with a ½ day electronic meeting via the Web in August 2020. That motion received the unanimous support of all voting members of District Five.

As additional follow-up to the teleconference, Susan Lessard-Friesen agreed to send an e-mail to all members of District Five, informing them of which option (1, 2, or 3) will be proposed for the future annual meetings of District Five in 2021 and 2022. A vote on that recommendation will be taken by the members of District Five at a later date.

Dana Oberman of NABP gave a brief report on the status of the NABP/AACP District Three Annual Meeting, which is currently scheduled for August 9-12, 2020, in Hilton Head, SC. That district is beginning to discuss their situation, but no decision has been made.

A motion to adjourn the teleconference was made by Dan Hansen, and seconded by Jason Varin. The motion was unanimously approved.

The teleconference adjourned at approximately 10:35 a.m. CDT.

Meeting Minutes prepared by Lloyd K. Jessen, District Five Secretary/Treasurer, on March 31, 2020.