District Five NABP/AACP 82nd Annual Meeting Business Session—August 9, 2019 Duluth, Minnesota

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Cody Wiberg and turned over to Secretary/Treasurer Lloyd K. Jessen.

The Secretary/Treasurer announced that the members of the District Five Study Grant Committee for 2019 were: Mark Hardy of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy, Ray Joubert of the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals, and Kari Shanard-Koenders of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy. The district received two (2) applications for individual study grants in 2019, and the committee decided to fund both applicants.

The district awarded a grant in the amount of \$840 to Dr. Lynn E. Kassel of Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, for her proposed study titled "Determining the Level of Stigma About Mental Health Held by Student Pharmacists in District Five." The district also awarded a grant in the amount of \$3,000 to Dr. Ally Dering-Anderson of the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy, for her proposed study titled "Advancing Practice for Pharmacy Technicians: A Comparison of Views." The results of these two research projects will be presented at District Five's 83rd Annual Meeting in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on August 5-7, 2020.

The reports of the District Five committees were then received.

Committee appointments for 2019 were as follows:

Audit Committee: Kari Shanard-Koenders, Chair; Sam Augustine; and Gayle Ziegler Nominating Committee: Andrew Funk, Chair; Diane Halvorson; and Jennifer Ball Resolutions Committee: Mark Hardy, Chair; Sabrina Beck; Diane Dady; Kevin Hamilton; and Brett Barker.

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Kari Shanard-Koenders of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the audit committee report. Kari reported that the committee had met, had examined the income and expenses for District Five for Calendar Year 2018, and had found them to be in order. It was moved, seconded and carried to adopt the audit committee report.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Kari and the members of the audit committee for their work.

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Andrew Funk of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy to present the Nominating Committee report. The nominating committee placed the names of Brett Barker (IA) and Diane Dady (SD) in nomination with a recommendation that Brett Barker should serve as the delegate and Diane Dady should serve as the alternate. Only boards of pharmacy were allowed to vote, since this is an NABP selection. Brett Barker was elected as the resolutions committee representative/delegate and Diane Dady was elected as the alternate.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Andrew and the members of the nominating committee for their work.

The Secretary/Treasurer called on Mark Hardy of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the resolutions committee report. The Secretary/Treasurer asked Mark to read each resolution in turn and it was voted on immediately after the reading. Since there were five members on the resolutions committee, they were considered moved and seconded by the committee.

Resolution #1: Recognition of Annual Meeting Sponsors.

WHEREAS, the 82nd Annual Meeting of District Five NABP/AACP was conducted with the generous support of these five participating companies: CVS Health, Express Scripts, NACDS, Walgreens, and Walmart,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Body of District Five NABP/AACP, that we express our sincere thanks and appreciation for their support.

Resolution #1 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #2: Recognition of Host Organizations.

WHEREAS, the staff/members of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy have contributed much time and energy in meeting preparation; and

WHEREAS, the staff/faculty of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy have contributed to the preparation of this meeting;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Body of District Five NABP/AACP go on record expressing their sincere appreciation for the kind hospitality and thoughtful planning to conduct a highly productive and successful Annual Meeting in Duluth, Minnesota.

Resolution #2 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #3: District Five Study Grants.

WHEREAS, in 1994 the District Five NABP/AACP instituted the District Five Study Grant, and

WHEREAS, projects supported by the Study Grant benefit the Board, Colleges, and Pharmacists of District Five; and

WHEREAS, there are sufficient funds in the District treasury to support continuation of the Study Grant,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that District Five NABP/AACP offer two (2) Study Grants in 2020 not to exceed \$3,000.00 each, for projects meeting the criteria and topics selected by the District Five Study Grant Committee.

Resolution #3 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #4: Lloyd K. Jessen Honorarium.

WHEREAS, Lloyd K. Jessen has contributed to District Five NABP/AACP through his excellent dedicated leadership and service as Secretary/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, such services are essential to the operations and functioning of District Five NABP/AACP;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the members of the 82nd Annual Meeting of District Five go on record to express our joint and mutual appreciation for his distinguished and faithful service; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that District Five issue Lloyd K. Jessen an honorarium in the amount of \$2,500.00 and pay his expenses related to attendance at the meeting.

Resolution #4 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

The Secretary/Treasurer thanked Mark Hardy and the members of the resolutions committee for their work.

Time and Place Committee:

Kevin Hamilton of the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba, along with Jillian Hardy of the University of Manitoba College of Pharmacy, invited the district to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, for the 2020 Annual Meeting on **August 5-7, 2020.** The meeting will be held at The Inn at the Forks in Winnipeg.

Kari Shanard-Koenders of the South Dakota accepted the hosting of the 2021 Annual Meeting on behalf of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy and the South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy & Allied Health Professions. The time and place of the 2021 Annual Meeting is yet to be determined.

Old Business:

The Secretary/Treasurer asked the members of the district whether future recipients of District Five study grants could use a portion of their award to cover travel expenses to attend the district annual meeting, for the purpose of presenting their research findings. A motion was made to allow this change in policy. The proposal was moved and seconded. Following further discussion, the motion was unanimously approved.

There being no further business, the 2019 annual meeting of District Five NABP/AACP was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd K. Jessen Secretary/Treasurer