District Five NABP/AACP Sixth Joint Session/Business Session—August 8, 2015 Fargo, North Dakota

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Hardy and turned over to Secretary/Treasurer Lloyd K. Jessen.

Lloyd called on Ray Joubert of the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacists to present the Audit Committee report. Ray reported that the committee had met, had examined the income and expenses for District Five for calendar year 2014, and had found them to be in order. It was moved, seconded and carried to adopt the audit committee report.

Lloyd thanked Ray and the audit committee for their work.

Lloyd called on Shane Wendel to present the Nominating Committee report. The nominating committee placed the names of Fran Gronberg and Cody Wiberg in nomination with a recommendation that Fran Gronberg should serve as the committee member and Cody Wiberg should serve as the alternate. Only boards of pharmacy were allowed to vote, since this is an NABP selection. Fran Gronberg was elected as our resolutions committee representative and Cody Wiberg was elected as our alternate.

Lloyd thanked Shane and the nominating committee for their work.

Lloyd called on Paula Stotz to present the resolutions committee report. Lloyd asked Paula to read each resolution in turn and it was voted on immediately after the reading. Since there are five members on the resolutions committee, they were considered moved and seconded by the committee.

Resolution #1: Recognition of Annual Meeting Sponsors

WHEREAS, the 78th Annual Meeting of District V NABP/AACP could not have been conducted without the generous support of these participating companies: *Astrup Drug - Clinical Supplies Management - CVS Caremark Dakota Drug -Express Scripts Genetech, Inc - Hy-Vee, Inc - NACDS - Omnicare Inc - Target - Thrifty White Pharmacies - Walgreens - Walmart Stores*

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Body of District V NABP/AACP, that we express our sincere thanks and appreciation for their support.

Resolution #1 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #2: Recognition of Host Organizations

WHEREAS, Mark J. Hardy, the members and staff of the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy have contributed time and energy in meeting preparations, and

WHEREAS, Charles Peterson and the faculty /staff of the North Dakota State University of Pharmacy have also contributed many hours preparing for this meeting;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Body of District V NABP/AACP go on record expressing their sincere appreciation for the kind hospitality and thoughtful planning to conduct a highly productive and successful Annual Meeting.

Resolution #2 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #3: District V Study Grant

WHEREAS, In 1994 the District V NABP/AACP instituted the District V Study Grant, and

WHEREAS, Projects supported by the Study Grant benefit the Board, Colleges, and Pharmacists of District V; and

WHEREAS, There are sufficient funds in the District treasury to support continuation of the Study Grant,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that District V NABP/AACP offer two (2) 2015/2016 Study Grants not to exceed \$3,000.00 each, for projects meeting the criteria and topic selected by the District V Study Grant Committee.

Resolution #3 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Resolution #4: Lloyd Jessen, Honorarium

WHEREAS, Lloyd Jessen has contributed to District V NABP/AACP through his excellent dedicated leadership and service as Secretary/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, Such services are essential to the operations and functioning of District V NABP/AACP;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the 78th Annual Meeting of District V go on record to express our joint and mutual appreciation for his distinguished and faithful service; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that District V issue Lloyd Jessen an honorarium in the amount of \$2,500.00.

Resolution #4 was carried with all boards and colleges voting.

Lloyd thanked Paula and the resolutions committee for their work.

Gary Dewhirst, the current District Five representative to the NABP Executive Committee, provided an overview of the activities and priorities of NABP and his perspective as a member of the EC. Gary's first term on the EC will end in May 2016.

Two individuals expressed an interest in representing District Five on the NABP Executive Committee for the 2016-2019 term: Gary Dewhirst of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy and Stuart Williams of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy. Gary and Stuart both spoke and briefly described their backgrounds and explained their interest in the EC position. An election, with ballots, was held – with only the boards of pharmacy participating. As a result of the election, both individuals received sufficient support to move forward as candidates for the NABP Executive Committee at NABP's Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA, in May 2016.

Time and Place Committee:

Michael Losee of the Nebraska Board of Pharmacy invited the District to Lincoln, Nebraska:

August 4-6, 2016

Courtyard by Marriott—Downtown/Haymarket

808 R Street

Lincoln, NE 68508

Hotel Contact Information Front Desk: 402/904-4800

Ask for "State Board of Pharmacy Regional Meeting" Room Rate of \$129 + 16.48% tax

Hotel rooms must be booked by Thursday, July 14, 2016

Fax: (402) 904-4804

The Friday night activity has not yet been announced.

Terry Witkowski accepted the hosting of the 2017 meeting on behalf of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy and the colleges of pharmacy at Drake University and the University of Iowa.

Lloyd turned the meeting over to President Mark Hardy for other new business. Mark and Howard Anderson made a special presentation to Ron Guse of the Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association/College of Pharmacists of Manitoba, in appreciation of his many years of dedicated service to District Five. Ron will be retiring in 2016.

Mark and Howard Anderson made a special request that the new secretary/treasurer be reimbursed for travel and meeting expenses which he will incur on behalf of the District beginning with this meeting and for all future meetings. A motion for such reimbursement was made by Marilyn Speedie and seconded by Charles Peterson. The motion carried unanimously and was approved, with all boards and colleges voting.

Mark, Howard and Lloyd explained the transition of the District Five office to Des Moines, Iowa, following the conclusion of the 2015 annual meeting in Fargo. Lloyd requested approval to establish at new bank account on behalf of District Five at either Wells Fargo or First National Bank in West Des Moines, Iowa. The request was approved with all boards and colleges voting. District Five funds will be transferred from North Dakota to Iowa after the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy finalizes the income and expenses of the 2015 annual meeting.

Lloyd thanked the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy and the NDSU College of Pharmacy for hosting a very successful and enjoyable annual meeting in Fargo. He also thanked Howard Anderson for his many years of service to District Five and for his valuable assistance during the transition of the District office from North Dakota to Iowa. Lloyd also thanked Mark for his help and assistance.

There being no further business, the 2015 annual meeting of District V NABP/AACP was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd K. Jessen, R.Ph., J.D. Secretary/Treasurer