



DISTRICT V NABP/AACP 76TH ANNUAL MEETING INN AT THE FORKS – 75 FORKS MARKET ROAD WINNIPEG, MANITOBA AUGUST 8-10, 2013

MEETING SCHEDULE

THURSDAY, AUGUST 8th, 2013

Free Time 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Registration 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Dinner on Your Own 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Professional Development (1.5 hours) 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

Confidentiality in Practice

- Shawn Bugden B.Sc. (Pharm), M.Sc., Pharm.D., Associate Professor, University of Manitoba

Opening Reception for District Registrants 8:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

FRIDAY, AUGUST 9th, 2013

Breakfast 7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.

First Joint Session: 8:45 am - 10:30 am

Opening Remarks: US Consul and Principal Officer, Mr. Tim Cipullo

Welcoming: Kyle MacNair, President, Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association (MPhA)

- Dr. Neal Davies, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba

Call to Order & District Reports: Howard C. Anderson, District Five Secretary

Report from NABP: Karen Ryle, NABP President Report from AACP: Peggy Piascik, AACP President

Report of the District Five Study Grant

Implementation of Continuing Professional Development by a Board of Pharmacy

- CoraLynn Trewet, Associate Professor (Clinical), Director of Continuing Education, University of Iowa

Break 10:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.

First Joint Session (continued): 10:45 a.m. – Noon





NABP AACP DISTRICT V – MEETING SCHEDULE (CONTINUED)

(Friday continued)

International Pharmacy Graduates Education and Registration Support Program

The Internationally Educated Health Professionals Initiative supports internationally educated pharmacists in their licensure efforts in Manitoba. Report will include how the group started, the government support that is received and how it is utilized, along with the program's success and challenges in achieving objectives.

- Nancy Kleiman, Pharmacy Practice Liaison & Instructor, University of Manitoba, Faculty of Pharmacy

Evaluate Community Pharmacist-Provided Medication Management in Patient-Centered Medical Homes

Report of the three research grant awards designed to evaluate the impact on patient outcomes by the integration of community pharmacy-provided medication management strategies into existing patient-centered care teams, such as medical homes and accountable care organizations

- Reporting: Jeff Reist, Assistant Professor, University of Iowa, College of Pharmacy

Luncheon – Inn at the Forks

Noon - 1:00 p.m.

Second Joint Session / Presentation:

1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

"Pharmacy Compounding and Drug Manufacturing"

- Ronald Guse, Registrar, Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association & Lloyd Jessen (via Skype), Executive Director, Iowa Board of Pharmacy

And

Animal Drug Distribution

- Lloyd Jessen (via Skype), Executive Director, Iowa Board of Pharmacy

Break

2:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

First Separate Session

Boards Separate Session I:

2:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Internet Drug Outlet, identifying the source and vendor

- Sergeant Chris Turner, RCMPolice

.PHARMACY Generic Top-Level Domain Initiative and Internet Drug Outlet Identification Program-Report on Investigation and Related Outcomes — Update

- Carmen Catizone, Executive Director, NABP

And

Manitoba Regulatory Update, expanded scope of the Pharmacist

- Kyle MacNair, President, MPhA

Pharmacy Technicians in Canada, Regulatory Update

- Kim McIntosh, Assistant Registrar, MPhA

Colleges Separate Session I:

2:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

"Incorporating patient safety concepts into the university undergraduate program"

- Laurie Thompson, Executive Director, Manitoba Institute for Patient Safety



NABP AACP DISTRICT V - MEETING SCHEDULE (CONTINUED)

Canadian Pharm D update -

- Dr. Neal Davies, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba Open discussion

- Dr. Neal Davies, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba

Evening Event

6:30 p.m.

Dinner and Entertainment

Clay Oven (East Indian Menu)

Baseball... Winnipeg Goldeyes and the Sioux Falls Canaries

SATURDAY, AUGUST 10th, 2013

Breakfast 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.

Committee Meetings 7:30 a.m. – 8:15 a.m.

Third Joint Session:

8:15 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

Pharmacy Preferred providers as selected by Drug Manufacturer and Third Party Payers.

Is there a role for the Boards?

- Cody Wyberg, Executive Director, Minnesota Board of Pharmacy

Ronald Guse, Registrar, Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association

Multi-state Internship Project

–Howard Anderson, District Five Secretary

Break 10:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Third Joint Session (continued):

10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

NAPRA Entry to Practice Competency for Pharmacy technicians and Pharmacists

- Ray Joubert, Registrar, Saskatchewan College of Pharmacists

Patient Safety and Workload/Working Conditions

- Ed Maier and Jim Miller, Board of Directors, Iowa Board of Pharmacy Open Forum

- Howard Anderson, District Five Secretary

Business Session

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Presiding – Howard C. Anderson, District Five Secretary

Reports of Committees

Reports of Separate Sessions

Report of Time and Place for Future Meetings

Other New Business

Adjournment